Surf, Quiksilver & Roxy Pro

The Quiksilver & Roxy Pro from October 3-14 2018

Every year, the 9th stage of the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro takes place in the Landes, in Hossegor, France. The men’s and women’s competition bring together the best surfers in the world and fans from around the world for 11 days of surfing at the highest level. The winner earns 10000 points, the second 7800 and the third 6085. The financial earnings live up to the expectations. The 36 male athlete surfers compete for four rounds to advance to the elimination phase that ends with the grand finale.

Brazil’s Filipe Toledo and Gabriel Medina are coming in strong. The latter won the seventh phase in Teahupoo, French Polynesia. The two “auriverdes” are at the top of the ranking this year and Medina is one of the best of this era in Hossegor. He has been first 3 times and second 2 times in the last 7 years. The French Jeremy Flores from Reunion Island, familiar with Hossegor, is coming up with a 3rd place finish in Tahiti. He knows these waves from the “Sud-Ouest” very well and will be sure to deliver a magnificent show.

On the women’s side, the Australian Stephanie Gilmore, certainly the greatest surfer of this era with her 6 world titles, is looking forward to conquering her seventh championship. She has won 3 of the last 7 events in 2018. Placed in second and third place are respectively the American Lakey Peterson and the Brazilian Tatiana Weston-Webb. Then, the 24-year-old French Johanne Defay, born in Reunion Island, is fourth. She is having a great season and we hope she will be able to climb the podium!

Competition site – “La Gravière” & the Capbreton Underwater Canyon

“La Gravière” wave is one of the world’s most iconic sand bottom one. It is possible to surf it from both sides and has amazing barrels, it’s the French Pipeline. Yet, how can we explain the fact that a hundred meters to the south, in Capbreton, the waves are half the size? The Capbreton Underwater Canyon is the sole responsible for this singularity! However, contrary to popular belief, the rift and its canyon do not point towards La Gravière but towards Capbreton instead. By the way, the chasm is as big as the Grand Canyon in Colorado in the United States. The answer to our question stems from the physical phenomenon of refraction. The waves move away from the canyon and in our case, they are concentrated further north, towards Hossegor and therefore, towards “La Graviere”.

This feat can also be observed in Nazaré, Portugal. The place where the last world records of the biggest waves surfed have been beaten. Rodrigo Koxa holds the record with a 24 m or 80 feet wave. Nevertheless, there is controversy because some believe that the American Garrett McNamara should hold the title with a wave of a staggering 30 m (100 feet) surfed in Nazaré in 2013.

Innovation at the 2018 Championship Tour

The WSL Championship Tour (WCT) has 11 stages around the world. Only two take place in Europe: Hossegor and Portugal. An exciting novelty will feature this year’s WCT. After 10 years of construction and $ 30 million invested, the legendary Kelly Slater has finished his “Surf Ranch”. It will host the event right before the Quiksilver Pro one in Hossegor. The artificial wave is controversial because it is technically perfect and can be reproduced identically every single time, an infinite amount of times. Critics say it kills the magic of surfing. It will be interesting to see who will come out on top surfing in these “perfect” conditions and then tackle the unpredictable sea of La Gravière.

Ondres and Joan Duru

The surf spots of the region attract enthusiasts from around the world. Indeed the region is known for its tubes and its waves for all levels. In addition to this, the famous Belharra off the coast of Saint-Jean-de-Luz attracts big wave riders in search of thrills. As a matter of fact, a reef is located a few kilometers away from the beach. During the winter, waves ranging from 8-15 meters can crash there if the conditions are right.

Ondres is a small town of 5000 inhabitants at the edge of the Atlantic and in the middle of the Landes pines. Its main economic activity is tourism. During the high summer season, the small city can see its population triple.

Among the athletes, we can note the professional surfer Joan Duru who is from the village. He is famous for having eliminated Kelly Slater in Hossegor in 2008. He will be present this year in this sea that he knows so well. We hope he will manage to secure a spot on the podium to climb up the rankings!

The good addresses of Hossegor & Capbreton

Hossegor and Capbreton offer many options for restaurants and leisure activities:

  • La Centrale: 200 meters from the “La Gravière” spot, the Centrale is at the heart o
  • Hossegor lake: this salt water lake is directly connected to the sea by a channel that separates out Capbreton Hossegor. All around it you can find nice restaurants with a beautiful view of the lake. At high tide, you will most likely be able to watch adrenaline junkies jump off the bridge (8 m) crossing the canal.
  • Capbreton: its port offers very good options of seafood restaurants. Not to mention those along the ocean which offer a breathtaking view of the sunset.

L’Espace Blue Océan & Ondres

Set in a beautiful 10-hectare pine forest, on the edge of the Landes forest, this eco-resort offers comfortable, designer chalets scattered throughout nature. Their beautiful terraces equipped with hammocks, classy deckchairs, and a plancha allow to tan quietly and extend the evenings around a nice BBQ.
Blue Océan offers special discount during the Quiksilver Pro !

Blue Océan offers a multitude of sports and leisure activities: heated salt water swimming pool, surfing academy, surfcamps, skate park, circus school, horse riding, yoga and pilate classes, massage treatments, bike rental… In addition, the kid’s club occupies children around fun activities and discovery of local fauna and flora.
All these activities and services are available 11 months out of 12 (except swimming pool closed from December to the end of March, and kid’s club open week-ends and school holidays only)).

The accommodations have full hotel service (beds made on arrival, towels, cleaning).

The beach is 900 m away. You can reach it by a bike path or via a forest path. You will be able to learn or improve your surf, or to relax on the huge sandy beach.
You can even access Hossegor and Capbreton via the bicycle paths crossing the forest.

Access to the WCT

A shuttle between the Blue Ocean and the WCT is available to customers during the competition. No need to hassle to find a parking space at the edge of the beach: the Blue Océan van drops you off and picks you up at the foot of the competition.

L’Espace Blue Ocean in Ondres is easily and quickly accessible by all major means of transport. It is exactly halfway between the Biarritz airport (BAB) and Hossegor beach. Bayonne’s TGV (high speed train) station is even closer, at 15 minutes from the village. Finally, the highway is 5 minutes from the Blue Ocean.

Do not hesitate to inform us your time of arrival so we can arrange transportation from the airport or train station.

Espace Blue Océan is ideal for teams and groups who wish to be close to the heart of the competition but who also want to be able to escape from the crowds and want to experience the authenticity of a small village from the Landes with Basque influence.

Surf, Quiksilver & Roxy Pro

Le Quiksilver & Roxy Pro du 3 au 14 octobre 2018

Tous les ans, la 9e étape du Quiksilver et Roxy Pro se déroule dans les Landes, à Hossegor. Cette compétition masculine et féminine rassemble les meilleurs surfeurs au monde et des fans
de tous horizons, pour 11 jours de surf du plus haut niveau. Le gagnant remporte 10000 points, le deuxième 7800 et le troisième 6085. Les récompenses financières sont à la hauteur. Les 36 surfeurs athlètes masculins s’affrontent durant des phases éliminatoires étalées sur 4 tours pour ensuite atteindre la grande finale.

Les brésiliens Filipe Toledo et Gabriel Medina arrivent en favoris. Ce dernier a remporté la septième phase à Teahupoo, en Polynésie Française. Les deux “auriverdes” sont au top du classement cette année et Medina est un des meilleurs de l’actualité à Hossegor. Il a été premier 3 fois et deuxième 2 fois ces 7 dernières années. Le français Jérémy Flores natif de l’Ile de la Réunion, habitué de la station balnéaire d’Hossegor, arrive auréolé de sa 3e place remportée à Tahiti. Il connaît très bien les vagues landaises et nous promet un magnifique spectacle.

Du côté des femmes, l’australienne Stephanie Gilmore, certainement la plus grande surfeuse de l’actualité avec ses 6 titres mondiaux, cherche à conquérir le septième. Elle a remporté 3 des dernières 7 étapes en 2018. En deuxième et troisième place on trouve respectivement l’américaine Lakey Peterson et la brésilienne Tatiana Weston-Webb. Puis, la jeune française Johanne Defay de 24 ans, née à la Réunion, en quatrième position. Elle fait pour l’instant une très belle saison, on espère qu’elle réussira à grimper sur le podium !

Site de la compétition – La Gravière et le Gouf de Capbreton

La vague de la Gravière a un fond de sable parmi les plus iconiques au monde. Elle ouvre des deux côtés avec des tubes impressionnants, c’est le Pipeline français. Mais, comment expliquer qu’à une centaine de mètres au sud, vers Capbreton, les vagues ne font que la moitié en taille? Le Gouf de Capbreton (gouffre en gascon) est le responsable de cette singularité! Mais, contrairement à la croyance populaire, le Gouf et son canyon ne pointent pas vers la Gravière mais vers Capbreton. D’ailleurs, ce canyon est aussi grand que le Grand Canyon du Colorado aux États-Unis. La réponse à notre question peut se résumer au phénomène physique de la réfraction. Les vagues s’écartent du canyon et dans notre cas, elles se concentrent plus au nord, vers Hossegor et donc, vers la Gravière.

Ce fait peut aussi être observé à Nazaré au Portugal. Les derniers records du monde des plus grandes vagues surfées y ont été battus. Rodrigo Koxa détient le fait sur une vague de 24 m ou 80 pieds. Mais, il y a polémique car certains estiment que l’américain Garrett McNamara devrait détenir le record avec une vague de 30 m (100 pieds) surfée à Nazaré en 2013.

Nouveauté au Championship Tour de 2018

Le WSL Championship Tour (WCT) comporte 11 étapes qui se déroulent tout autour de la planète. Deux seulement, se déroulent en Europe, à Hossegor et au Portugal. Une excitante nouveauté est à l’affiche du WCT : après 10 ans de construction et 30 millions de dollars investis, le “Surf Ranch” du légendaire Kelly Slater devient l’étape qui précède le Quiksilver Pro. Cette vague artificielle est polémique car elle est techniquement parfaite et reproduisible à l’identique, à l’infini. Les critiques disent qu’elle tue la magie du surf. Il sera intéressant de voir qui s’en sort le mieux dans des conditions “parfaites” pour ensuite s’attaquer à la mer imprévisible de la Gravière.

Ondres et Joan Duru

Les spots de surf de la région attirent des passionnés du monde entier. En effet le sud-ouest est connu pour ses tubes et ses vagues pour tous les niveaux. En outre, la célèbre Belharra, au large de Saint-Jean-de-Luz, attire des “big wave riders” en quête de sensations fortes. En fait, un récif est situé à quelques kilomètres de la plage. En hiver, des vagues de 8 à 15 mètres peuvent s’écraser sur celui-ci si les conditions de houle, marée et vent sont réunies.

Ondres est une petite ville de 5000 habitants au bord de l’Atlantique et au milieu des pins landais. Sa principale activité économique est le tourisme. Pendant la haute saison d’été, la ville peut voir sa population tripler.

Parmi ses athlètes, on peut noter le surfeur professionnel Joan Duru qui est originaire du village. Il est célèbre pour avoir éliminé Kelly Slater à Hossegor en 2008. Il répondra présent encore cette année pour affronter américains, australiens et brésiliens dans cette mer qu’il connaît si bien. On lui souhaite de grimper sur le podium afin d’améliorer son classement.

Les bonnes adresses d’Hossegor & Capbreton

Hossegor et Capbreton offrent de nombreuses options de restaurants et loisirs divers:

  • La Centrale: à 200 m du spot de la Gravière, la Centrale est au coeur de la compétition. On peut y trouver de nombreux bars et restaurants qui sont très animés toute la journée.
  • Le lac d’Hossegor: ce lac d’eau salé est directement connecté à la mer par un canal qui démarque Capbreton d’Hossegor. Tout autour de celui-ci vous pouvez trouver d’agréables restaurants offrant une belle vue du lac. À marée haute, vous allez très probablement pouvoir observer des chasseurs de sensations fortes qui sautent du pont (8 m) qui surplombe le canal.
  • Capbreton: son port offre de très bonnes options de restaurants de fruits de mer. Sans compter ceux qui longent l’océan et qui offrent une vue époustouflante du couché du soleil.

L’Espace Blue Océan à Ondres

Implanté dans une magnifique pinède de 10 hectares, à l’orée de la forêt landaise, cet eco-resort propose des chalets confortables et design disséminés dans la nature. Leurs belles terrasses équipées de hamacs, transat design, et d’une plancha permettent de bronzer au calme et de prolonger les soirées autour de bonnes grillades.
Blue Océan vous réserve des offres promotionnelles durant le Quiksilver Pro !

Blue Océan offre une multitude d’activités sportives et de loisirs : piscine au sel chauffée, école de surf, surfcamps, école de cirque, skate park,équitation, cours de yoga et pilate, soins massages, location de vélos et VTT… De plus le kid’s club occupe les enfants autours d’activités ludiques et de découverte de la faune et de la flore locales.
Toutes ces activités et services sont disponibles 11 mois sur 12 (sauf piscine fermée de décembre à fin mars, kid’s club en w.ends et vacances scolaires uniquement).

Les logements bénéficient d’un service hôtelier complet (lits faits à l’arrivée, serviettes de toilette, ménage).

La plage se situe à 900 m. Vous pouvez la rejoindre par piste cyclable ou via un sentier forestier. Vous pourrez y apprendre ou perfectionner votre surf, ou vous prélasser sur l’immense plage de sable fin.
Vous pouvez même accéder à Hossegor et Capbreton via les pistes cyclables traversant la forêt.

Accès au WCT

Une navette entre le Blue Océan et le WCT est mise à disposition des clients durant la compétition. Pas besoin de “galérer” pour trouver une place de stationnement au bord de la plage : le van Blue Océan vous dépose et vous reprend au pied des compétitions.
L’Espace Blue Océan à Ondres est facilement et rapidement accessible par tous les principaux moyens de transport. Il se situe exactement à mi-chemin entre l’aéroport de Biarritz (BAB) et Hossegor.